Skip to Main Content


I’m kinda like herpes, I just keep coming back.

—George Carlin

The Herpesviridae family is composed of large, enveloped, icosahedral, double-stranded DNA viruses. There are eight known human herpesviruses (HHVs) and a very large number of animal herpesviruses. The HHVs causing diseases include herpes simplex virus-1 (HSV-1) and HSV-2, which cause orofacial and genital lesions; varicella-zoster virus (VZV), which causes primary chickenpox and reactivated shingles; Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), an infectious cause of mononucleosis, Burkitt lymphoma (BL), and other B-cell lymphomas; cytomegalovirus (CMV) cause mononucleosis symptoms in adults and pneumonia, diarrhea, and retinitis in immunocompromised, and the most common congenital infection; HHV types 6 and 7 (HHV-6 and HHV-7), which cause roseola in infants; and HHV-8 also known as Kaposi Sarcoma (KS)-associated herpesvirus (KSHV), which causes KS and some B-cell lymphoma (Table 14–1). In addition, the simian herpesvirus, herpes B virus, has occasionally caused lethal human disease in primate center workers. All herpesviruses establish lifelong latent infections in their hosts with periodic reactivation events.

TABLE 14–1Human Herpesviruses

❋ Large, enveloped, icosahedral, double-stranded DNA viruses

Eight HHVs cause a range of diseases



All herpesviruses are morphologically similar, with an overall size of 180 to 200 nm. An example of an HSV virion is shown in Figure 14–1 as a representative virion structure for herpesviruses. The linear, double-stranded DNA genome and core proteins are encapsidated by an icosahedral capsid forming a ...

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.