Skip to Main Content

We have a new app!

Take the Access library with you wherever you go—easy access to books, videos, images, podcasts, personalized features, and more.

Download the Access App here: iOS and Android


Medical mycoses can be divided into four categories: (1) cutaneous, (2) subcutaneous, (3) systemic, and (4) opportunistic. Some features of the important fungal diseases are described in Table 48–1. Cutaneous and subcutaneous mycoses are discussed in this chapter, and important features of the causative organisms are described in Table 48–2. The systemic and opportunistic mycoses are discussed in Chapters 49 and 50, respectively.

Table 48–1Features of Important Fungal Diseases
Table 48–2Important Features of Skin and Subcutaneous Fungal Diseases

Additional information regarding the clinical aspects of infections caused by the fungi in this chapter is provided in Part IX entitled Infectious Diseases beginning on Chapter 70.



Dermatophytoses are caused by fungi (dermatophytes) that infect only superficial keratinized structures (skin, hair, and nails), not deeper tissues. The most important dermatophytes are classified in to three genera: Trichophyton, Epidermophyton, and Microsporum. All of these dermatophytes are molds. They are not dimorphic.

The dermatophytes are spread from person-to-person by direct contact. Microsporum is also spread from animals such as dogs and cats. This indicates that to prevent reinfection by Microsporum...

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.