Skip to Main Content



Kim Barrett received her PhD in biological chemistry from University College London in 1982. Following postdoctoral training at the National Institutes of Health, she joined the faculty at the University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine in 1985, rising to the rank of Professor of Medicine in 1996, and was named Distinguished Professor of Medicine in 2015. From 2006 to 2016, she also served the University as Dean of the Graduate Division. Her research interests focus on the physiology and pathophysiology of the intestinal epithelium, and how its function is altered by commensal, probiotic, and pathogenic bacteria as well as in specific disease states, such as inflammatory bowel diseases. She has published more than 250 articles, chapters, and reviews, and has received several honors for her research accomplishments including the Bowditch and Davenport Lectureships from the American Physiological Society (APS), the Bayliss-Starling Lectureship from The Physiological Society of the UK and Ireland, and the degree of Doctor of Medical Sciences, honoris causa, from Queens University, Belfast. She has been very active in scholarly editing, serving currently as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Physiology. She is also a dedicated and award-winning instructor of medical, pharmacy, and graduate students, and has taught various topics in medical and systems physiology to these groups for more than 30 years. Her efforts as a teacher and mentor were recognized with the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielson Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award from the APS in 2012, and she also served as the 86th APS President from 2013 to 2014. Her teaching experiences led her to author a prior volume (Gastrointestinal Physiology, McGraw-Hill, 2005; second edition published in 2014) and she was honored to have been invited to take over the helm of Ganong in 2007 for the 23rd and subsequent editions, including this one.



Susan Barman received her PhD in physiology from Loyola University School of Medicine in Maywood, Illinois. Afterward she went to Michigan State University (MSU) where she is currently a Professor in the Department of Pharmacology/Toxicology and the Neuroscience Program. She is also Chair of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee and serves on the College of Human Medicine (CHM) Curriculum Development Group for medical school education. She has had a career-long interest in neural control of cardiorespiratory function with an emphasis on the characterization and origin of the naturally occurring discharges of sympathetic and phrenic nerves. She has published about 150 research articles, invited review articles, and book chapters. She was a recipient of a prestigious National Institutes of Health MERIT (Method to Extend Research in Time) Award. She is also a recipient of an MSU Outstanding University Woman Faculty Award, a CHM Distinguished Faculty Award, a Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology, and the Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lecture Award from the Neural Control of Autonomic Regulation section of the American Physiological Society (APS). She is also a Fellow of the APS and served as its 85th President. She has also served as a Councilor of APS and Chair of the Women in Physiology and Section Advisory Committees of the APS. She is also active in the Michigan Physiological Society, a chapter of the APS.



Heddwen Brooks received her PhD from Imperial College, University of London and is a Professor in the Departments of Physiology and Pharmacology at the University of Arizona (UA). Dr. Brooks is a renal physiologist and is best known for her development of microarray technology to address in vivo signaling pathways involved in the hormonal regulation of renal function. Dr. Brooks' many awards include the American Physiological Society (APS) Lazaro J. Mandel Young Investigator Award, which is for an individual demonstrating outstanding promise in epithelial or renal physiology. In 2009, Dr. Brooks received the APS Renal Young Investigator Award at the annual meeting of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. Dr. Brooks served as Chair of the APS Renal Section (2011–2014) and currently serves as Associate Editor for the American Journal of Physiology-Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology, and on the Editorial Board for the American Journal of Physiology-Renal Physiology (since 2001). Dr. Brooks has served on study sections of the National Institutes of Health, the American Heart Association, and served as a member of the Nephrology Merit Review Board for the Department of Veterans' Affairs.



Jason Yuan received his medical degree from Suzhou Medical College (Suzhou, China) in 1983, his doctoral degree in cardiovascular physiology from Peking Union Medical College (Beijing, China) and his postdoctoral training in the University of Maryland at Baltimore. He joined the faculty at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in 1993 and then moved to the University of California, San Diego in 1999, rising to the rank of Professor in 2003. His research interests center on pathogenic roles of membrane receptors and ion channels pulmonary vascular disease. He has published more than 300 articles, reviews, editorials and chapters, and has edited or co-edited 9 books. He has received several honors for his research accomplishments including the Cournand and Comroe Young Investigator Award, the Established Investigator award and the Kenneth D. Bloch Memorial Lectureship from the American Heart Association; the Guggenheim Fellowship Award from John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation; the Estelle Grover Lectureship from the American Thoracic Society; and the Robert M. Berne Memorial Lectureship from The American Physiological Society. He is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and an elected Member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians. He has served on many advisory committees including Chair of the Respiratory Integrative Biology and Translational Research study section of the National Institutes of Health and Chair of the Pulmonary Circulation Assembly of the American Thoracic Society. He has also been very active in scholarly editing serving currently as the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Pulmonary Circulation and Associate Editor of the American Journal of Physiology Cell Physiology. He is a leading editor of the Textbook of Pulmonary Vascular Disease (Springer, 2011).

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.