Skip to Main Content



Kim Barrett received her PhD in biological chemistry from University College London in 1982. Following postdoctoral training at the National Institutes of Health, she joined the faculty at the University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine in 1985, rising to the rank of Professor of Medicine in 1996, and was named Distinguished Professor of Medicine in 2015. Since 2006, she has also served the University as Dean of the Graduate Division. Her research interests focus on the physiology and pathophysiology of the intestinal epithelium, and how its function is altered by commensal, probiotic, and pathogenic bacteria as well as in specific disease states, such as inflammatory bowel diseases. She has published more than 200 articles, chapters, and reviews, and has received several honors for her research accomplishments including the Bowditch and Davenport Lectureships from the American Physiological Society and the degree of Doctor of Medical Sciences, honoris causa, from Queens University, Belfast. She has been very active in scholarly editing, serving currently as the Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Physiology. She is also a dedicated and award-winning instructor of medical, pharmacy, and graduate students, and has taught various topics in medical and systems physiology to these groups for more than 20 years. Her efforts as a teacher and mentor were recognized with the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielson Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award from the American Physiological Society (APS) in 2012, and she also served as the 86th APS President from 2013–14. Her teaching experiences led her to author a prior volume (Gastrointestinal Physiology, McGraw-Hill, 2005; second edition published in 2014) and she was honored to have been invited to take over the helm of Ganong in 2007 for the 23rd and subsequent editions, including this one.



Susan Barman received her PhD in physiology from Loyola University School of Medicine in Maywood, Illinois. Afterward she went to Michigan State University (MSU) where she is currently a Professor in the Department of Pharmacology/Toxicology and the Neuroscience Program. Dr Barman has had a career-long interest in neural control of cardiorespiratory function with an emphasis on the characterization and origin of the naturally occurring discharges of sympathetic and phrenic nerves. She was a recipient of a prestigious National Institutes of Health MERIT (Method to Extend Research in Time) Award. She is also a recipient of an Outstanding University Woman Faculty Award from the MSU Faculty Professional Women's Association and an MSU College of Human Medicine Distinguished Faculty Award. She has been very active in the American Physiological Society (APS) and served as its 85th President. She has also served as a Councillor as well as Chair of the Central Nervous System Section of APS, Women in Physiology Committee and Section Advisory Committee of APS. She is also active in the Michigan Physiological Society, a chapter of the APS.



Scott Boitano received his PhD in genetics and cell biology from Washington State University in Pullman, Washington, where he acquired an interest in cellular signaling. He fostered this interest at University of California, Los Angeles, where he focused his research on second messengers and cellular physiology of the lung epithelium. How the airway epithelium contributes to lung health has remained a central focus of his research at the University of Wyoming and in his current positions with the Departments of Physiology and Cellular and Molecular Medicine, the Arizona Respiratory Center and the Bio5 Collaborative Research Institute at the University of Arizona. Dr. Boitano remains an active member of the American Physiological Society and served as the Arizona Chapter's President from 2010–2012.



Heddwen Brooks received her PhD from Imperial College, University of London and is a Professor in the Departments of Physiology and Pharmacology at the University of Arizona (UA). Dr Brooks is a renal physiologist and is best known for her development of microarray technology to address in vivo signaling pathways involved in the hormonal regulation of renal function. Dr Brooks' many awards include the American Physiological Society (APS) Lazaro J. Mandel Young Investigator Award, which is for an individual demonstrating outstanding promise in epithelial or renal physiology. In 2009, Dr Brooks received the APS Renal Young Investigator Award at the annual meeting of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. Dr Brooks served as Chair of the APS Renal Section (2011-2014) and currently serves as Associate Editor for the American Journal of Physiology-Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology and on the Editorial Board for the American Journal of Physiology-Renal Physiology (since 2001). Dr Brooks has served on study sections of the National Institutes of Health, the American Heart Association and recently was a member of the Nephrology Merit Review Board for the Department of Veterans' Affairs.

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.