Skip to Main Content
Contributors

Editor

Norton J. Greenberger, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Senior Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy
Brigham and Women's Hospital Boston, Massachusetts

Associate Editors

Richard S. Blumberg, MD
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Chief, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy
Brigham and Women's Hospital Boston, Massachusetts

Robert Burakoff, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Clinical Chief of Gastroenterology, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Brigham and Women's Hospital Boston, Massachusetts

Contributors

Jaya R. Agrawal, MD, MPH
Attending Gastroenterologist, Hampshire Gastroenterology Associates, Florence, Massachusetts
Gastrointestinal & Biliary Complications of Pregnancy

Frank A. Anania, MD, FACP, AGAF
Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Hepatology, Division of Digestive Diseases, Department of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia fanania@emory.edu
Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease

Peter A. Banks, MD
Director of the Center for Pancreatic Disease, Division of Gastroenterology, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts pabanks@partners.org
Acute Pancreatitis; Chronic Pancreatitis

Ronald Bleday, MD
Chief, Section of Colon and Rectal Surgery, Brigham and Women's Hospital & Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Associate Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts rbleday@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Surgical Considerations

Richard S. Blumberg, MD
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Chief, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts rblumberg@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Immunologic Considerations and Therapeutic Implications; Diverticular Disease of the Colon

Robert Burakoff, MD, MPH
Clinical Chief of Gastroenterology, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts rburakoff@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Medical Considerations; Functional (Nonulcer) Dyspepsia; Disorders of Gastric & Small Bowel Motility

David L. Carr-Locke, MA, MD, DRCOG, FRCP, FACG, FASGE
Chief, Division of Digestive Diseases, Co-Director of the Center for Digestive Health, Beth Israel Medical Center; Professor, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, New York dcarrlocke@chpnet.org
Endoscopic Retrograde Cholangiopancreatography (ERCP)

Walter W. Chan, MD, MPH
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts wwchan@partners.org
Functional (Nonulcer) Dyspepsia; Disorders of Gastric & Small Bowel Motility

Arun Chaudhury, MBBS, MD
Senior Research Fellow in Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Center for Swallowing & Motility Disorders, VA Boston Healthcare System (VABHS), West Roxbury, Massachusetts arun_chaudhury@hms.harvard.edu
Oropharyngeal & Esophageal Motility Disorders

David E. Cohen, MD, PhD
Robert H. Ebert Associate Professor of Medicine and Health Sciences and Technology; Director of Hepatology, Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Director, Harvard–Massachusetts Institute of Technology Division of Health Sciences and Technology, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts dcohen@partners.org
Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease

Darwin L. Conwell, MD, MS
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, Center for Pancreatic Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts dconwell@partners.org
Acute Pancreatitis; Chronic Pancreatitis

Jules L. Dienstag, MD
Carl W. Walter Professor of Medicine and Dean for Medical Education, Harvard Medical School; Physician, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts jdienstag@partners.org
Viral Hepatitis

Sonia Friedman, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts sfriedman1@partners.org
Gastrointestinal & Biliary Complications of Pregnancy; Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Norman D. Grace, MD
Director of Clinical Hepatology, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Lecturer on Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, Massachusetts ngrace@partners.org
Hereditary Hemochromatosis; Alcoholic Liver Disease; Portal Hypertension & Esophageal Variceal Hemorrhage

Norton J. Greenberger, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Senior Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts ngreenberger@partners.org
Acute Abdominal Pain: Basic Principles & Current Challenges; Mesenteric Ischemia; Eosinophilic Esophagitis; Treatment of Obesity: The Impact of Bariatric Surgery; Autoimmune Pancreatitis; Approach to the Patient with Jaundice & Abnormal Liver Tests; Portal Systemic Encephalopathy & Hepatic Encephalopathy; Ascites & Spontaneous Bacterial Peritonitis; Hepatorenal Syndrome; Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis; Gallstone Disease

Jennifer L. Irani, MD
Instructor in Surgery, Harvard Medical School; Staff Surgeon, Section of Colon and Rectal Surgery, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts jirani@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Surgical Considerations

Kunal Jajoo, MD
Lecturer in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts kjajoo@partners.org
Barrett Esophagus; Polypectomy

Fay Kastrinos, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor in Medicine, Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Division of Digestive and Liver Diseases, New York, New York fk18@coumbia.edu
Colorectal Cancer Screening

Sonal Kumar, MD
Gastroenterology Fellow, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts skumar11@partners.org
Acute Liver Failure

Timothy T. Kuo, MD
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts ttkuo@partners.org
Alcoholic Liver Disease

Linda S. Lee, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Director of Women's Health and Endoscopic Education in Gastroenterology, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts lslee@partners.org
Acute Lower Gastrointestinal Bleeding; Endoscopic Retrograde Cholangiopancreatography (ERCP); Endoscopic Ultrasound

Jonathan S. Levine, MD
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts jslevine@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Medical Considerations

Edward Lew, MD, MPH
Staff Gastroenterologist, VA Boston Healthcare System; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts elew@partners.org
Peptic Ulcer Disease; Zollinger-Ellison Syndrome (Gastrinoma)

Willis C. Maddrey, MD, MACP, FRCP
Professor of Internal Medicine, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas wcmaddrey@utsouthwestern.edu
Drug-Induced Liver Disease

Frederick L. Makrauer, MD
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Center for Crohn's and Colitis, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts fmakrauer@partners.org
Acute Abdominal Pain

Hiroshi Mashimo, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Director, GI Motility Service, VA Boston Healthcare System, Boston, Massachusetts hmashimo@hms.harvard.edu
Oropharyngeal & Esophageal Motility Disorders

Melissa A. Minor, MD, MPH
Gastroenterologist, Gastrointestinal Physicians, PC, North Shore Medical Center, Salem, Massachusetts mminor@partners.org
Portal Hypertension & Esophageal Variceal Hemorrhage

Koenraad J. Mortele, MD
Associate Professor of Radiology, Harvard Medical School; Associate Director, Division of Abdominal Imaging and Intervention; Director, Abdominal and Pelvic MRI; Director, CME, Department of Radiology Brigham and Women's Hospital; Boston, Massachusetts kmortele@partners.org
State-of-the-Art Imaging of the Gastrointestinal System

Gustav Paumgartner, MD, FRCP
Professor of Medicine Emeritus, University Hospital Munich-Grosshadern, Munich, Germany Gustav.Paumgartner@med.uni-muenchen.de
Gallstone Disease

Daniel S. Pratt, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Director, Liver-Biliary-Pancreas Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts dspratt@partners.org
Primary Biliary Cirrhosis

Amir A. Qamar, MD
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts aqamar@partners.org
Acute Liver Failure; Liver Neoplasms; Liver Transplantation

Anthony Ramsanahie, MD
Specialist Registrar General Surgery, United Lincolnshire Hospitals, NHS Trust. East Midlands Deanery Training Program aramsanahie@hotmail.com
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Surgical Considerations

Malcolm K. Robinson, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts mkrobinson@partners.org
Treatment of Obesity: The Impact of Bariatric Surgery

Anna Rutherford, MD, MPH
Instructor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts arutherford@partners.org
Viral Hepatitis

John R. Saltzman, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Director of Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts jsaltzman@partners.org
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease; Barrett Esophagus; Acute Upper Gastrointestinal Bleeding; Acute Lower Gastrointestinal Bleeding; Wireless Capsule Endoscopy & Deep Small Bowel Enteroscopy; Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis

Ashish Sharma, MD
Clinical Instructor, Harvard Medical School; Staff Physician, VA Boston Healthcare System, Boston, Massachusetts ashish.sharma2@med.va.gov
Tumors of the Pancreas

Benjamin Smith, MD
Lecturer on Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Assistant Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine; Director of Endoscopy and Attending Physician, Faulkner Hospital; Affiliate Staff, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts bnsmith@partners.org
Hereditary Hemochromatosis

Scott B. Snapper, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Director, Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center, Children's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts ssnapper@partners.org
Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Immunologic Considerations and Therapeutic Implications

Elena M. Stoffel, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts estoffel@partners.org
Mesenteric Ischemia; Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Syndromes

Sapna Syngal, MD, MPH
Director, Gastroenterology; Clinical Director, Cancer Genetics and Prevention Center, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Brigham and Women's Hospital; Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts sapna_syngal@dfci.harvard.edu
Colorectal Cancer Screening; Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Syndromes

Christopher C. Thompson, MD, MSc, FACG, FASGE
Director of Therapeutic Endoscopy, Division of Gastroenterology, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts ccthompson@partners.org
Endoscopic Management of Acute Biliary & Pancreatic Conditions; Gastrointestinal Foreign Bodies

Anne C. Travis, MD, MSc, FACG
Associate Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endoscopy, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts atravis@partners.org
Diverticular Disease of the Colon; Wireless Capsule Endoscopy & Deep Small Bowel Enteroscopy

Jerry S. Trier, MD
Professor of Medicine Emeritus, Harvard Medical School; Senior Physician, Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts jtrier@partners.org
Acute Diarrheal Disorders; Intestinal Malabsorption

Chinweike Ukomadu, MD, PhD
Attending Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts cukomadu@partners.org
Hepatic Complications of Pregnancy; Chronic Nonviral Hepatitis; Liver Neoplasms

Bechien U. Wu, MD, MPH
Instructor in Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology, Center for Pancreatic Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts buwu@partners.org
Acute Pancreatitis; Chronic Pancreatitis

Zhenglun Zhu, MD, PhD
Associate Physician, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts zzhu@partners.org
Gastrointestinal Manifestations of Immunodeficiency

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.