Skip to Main Content
Contributors

Editors

Mitchell D. Feldman, MD, MPhil
Professor of Medicine
Director of Faculty Mentoring
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California

John F. Christensen, PhD
Director of Behavioral Medicine Training
Department of Medicine
Legacy Health System
Portland, Oregon

Contributors

Garrick A. Applebee, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, University of Vermont College of Medicine; Attending Physician, Vermont Regional Sleep Center, Fletcher Allen Health Care, Burlington, Vermont
garrick.applebee@vtmednet.org
Sleep Disorders

Robert B. Baron, MD, MS
Professor of Medicine, Associate Dean for Graduate and Continuing Medical Education; Vice Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
baron@medicine.ucsf.edu
Obesity

Howard Beckman, MD, FACP, FFCH
Clinical Professor of Medicine and Family Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry; Medical Director, Rochester Individual Practice Association, Rochester, New York
hbeckman@ripa.org
Difficult Patients, Difficult Situations

Donald W. Brady, MD
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, Tennessee
donald.w.brady@vanderbilt.edu
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender (LGBT) Patients

David G. Bullard, PhD
Clinical Professor of Medicine and Clinical Professor of Medical Psychology (Psychiatry), University of California, San Francisco; Private Practice, San Francisco, California
dgbullard@yahoo.com
Sexual Problems

Lisa Capaldini, MD, MPH
Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
castromedical@aol.com
HIV/AIDS

John F. Christensen, PhD
Director of Behavioral Medicine Training, Department of Medicine, Legacy Health System; Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon
jchriste@lhs.org
Suggestion & Hypnosis; Depression; Stress & Disease; Mistakes in Medical Practice; Trainee Well-being

William D. Clark, MD
Lecturer in Medicine, Harvard Medical School; American Academy on Communication in Healthcare, Boston, Massachusetts
wdclark@gwi.net
Alcohol & Substance Use

Henry Cohen, MS, PharmD, FCCM, BCPP, CGP
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Long Island University; Chief Pharmacotherapy Officer, Director of Pharmacy Residency Programs, Departments of Pharmacy and Medicine, Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York
Hcohenliu@aol.com
Depression

Mary Raju Cole, RN, MS, APRN, BC
Contributing Editor, The Nursing Spectrum; Faculty, Institute for Healthcare Communication, New Haven, Connecticut
mrajucole@aol.com
Depression

Steven A. Cole, MD
Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, School of Medicine, State University of New York at Stony Brook, Stony Brook, New York
stcole@notes.cc.sunysb.edu
Depression

Thomas D. Denberg, MD, PhD, FACP
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center, Denver, Colorado
tom.denberg@uchsc.edu
Cross-cultural Communication

Christine M. Derzko, MD
Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Internal Medicine (Endocrinology), Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
derzkoc@smhitoronto.on.ca
Sexual Problems

M. Robin DiMatteo, PhD
Department of Psychology, University of California, Riverside, Riverside, California
robin.dimatteo@ucr.edu
Patient Adherence

Elizabeth Eckstrom, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and Director of Geriatrics Programs, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon
eckstrom@ohsu.edu
Older Patients

Barry Egener, MD
Medical Director, The Foundation for Medical Excellence; Faculty, Legacy Portland Internal Medicine Training Program, Portland, Oregon
begener@lhs.org
Empathy

Stuart J. Eisendrath, MD
Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, University of California, San Francisco; Director of Clinical Services, Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital and Clinics, San Francisco, California
stuarte@lppi.ucsf.edu
Somatization

Michael H. Eisman, MD
Medical Director, Seneca View Skilled Nursing Facility, Burdett, New York
eisman@capital.net
Palliative Care, Hospice, & Care of the Dying

Ronald M. Epstein, MD
Professor of Family Medicine, Psychiatry, and Oncology, Associate Dean for Educational Evaluation and Research; Director, Rochester Center to Improve Communication in Health Care, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Rochester, New York
ronald_epstein@urmc.rochester.edu
Mindful Practice

Mitchell D. Feldman, MD, MPhil
Professor of Medicine, Director of Faculty Mentoring, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
mfeldman@medicine.ucsf.edu
Families; Cross-cultural Communication; Depression; HIV/AIDS; Intimate Partner Violence; Trainee Well-being

Susan Folkman, PhD
Osher Center for Integrative Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
folkman@ocim.ucsf.edu
Complementary & Alternative Medicine

Richard M. Frankel, PhD
Professor of Medicine and Geriatrics, Senior Research Scientist, Regenstrief Institute, Indiana University School of Medicine, Research Sociologist, Center for Implementing Evidence Based Practice, Roudebush Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Indianapolis, Indiana
rfrankel@iupui.edu
Professionalism; Connections & Boundaries in Clinical Practice

Lawrence S. Friedman, MD
Medical Director, Ambulatory and Primary Care, Professor of Pediatrics, University of California, San Diego, San Diego, California
lsfriedman@ucsd.edu
Adolescents

Jennifer Gafford, PhD
Clinical Psychologist, Private Practice, Clayton Sleep Institute; Consulting Psychologist, Family Care Health Centers; Consulting Psychologist, St. Louis, Missouri
jengafford@aol.com
Training of International Medical Graduates

Geoffrey H. Gordon, MD, FACP
Pain Management Clinic, Kaiser Permanente; Senior Scholar, Oregon Health and Science University Center for Ethics in Health Care, Portland, Oregon
ghgordon@aol.com
Giving Bad News

Steven R. Hahn, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Instructor in Psychiatry, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Jacobi Medical Center, Bronx, New York
steveroost@aol.com
Families

Kelly B. Haskard, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Texas State University, San Marcos, San Marcos, Texas
kelly.haskard@email.ucr.edu
Patient Adherence

Eric S. Holmboe, MD
Senior Vice President for Quality Research and Academic Affairs, American Board of Internal Medicine; Adjunct Professor, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut
eholmboe@abim.org
Education for Competencies in the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Ellen Hughes, MD, PhD
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Director for Education, Osher Center for Integrative Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
ehughes@medicine.ucsf.edu
Complementary & Alternative Medicine

Thomas S. Inui, ScM, MD
President and Chief Executive Officer, Regenstrief Institute, Inc.; Associate Dean for Health Care Research and Regenstrief Professor of Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, Indiana
tinui@iupui.edu
Education for Competencies in the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Susan L. Janson, DNSc, RN, NP, FAAN
Department of Community Health Systems and Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
susan.janson@nursing.ucsf.edu
Chronic Illness & Patient Self-Management

Martina J. Jelley, MD, MSPH
Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Tulsa, Oklahoma
martina-jelley@ouhsc.edu
Women

C. Bree Johnston, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Geriatrics, University of California, San Francisco; San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center, San Francisco, California
bree.johnston@ucsf.edu
Dementia & Delirium

Mack Lipkin, Jr., MD
Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Co-Director, Section of Primary Care, New York University School of Medicine, New York, New York
mack.lipkin@med.nyu.edu
The Medical Interview

Debra K. Litzelman, MA, MD
Associate Dean for Medical Education and Curricular Affairs, Indiana University School of Medicine; Richard Powell Professor of Medicine, Indiana University Medical Center, Indianapolis, Indiana
dklitzel@iupui.edu
Education for Competencies in the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Jay S. Luxenberg, MD
Medical Director, Jewish Home, San Francisco; Clinical Professor, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
jay@luxenberg.net
Older Patients

Stephen J. McPhee, MD
Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of California, San Francisco; Attending Physician, Moffitt/Long Hospitals, San Francisco, California
smcphee@medicine.ucsf.edu
Mistakes in Medical Practice

Vishnu Mohan, MD
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program, Legacy Emanuel and Good Samaritan Hospitals, Portland; Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon
vmohan@lhs.org
Training of International Medical Graduates

Diane S. Morse, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry; General Medicine Unit, Rochester General Hospital, Rochester, New York
diane.morse@viahealth.org
Women

Daniel O'Connell, PhD
Clinical Instructor, University of Washington School of Medicine; Consulting Psychologist, Private Practice, Seattle, Washington
danoconn@mindspring.com
Behavior Change

Roberta K. Oka, RN, ANP, DNSc
Associate Professor, Department of Community Health Systems, School of Nursing, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
roberta.oka@nursing.ucsf.edu
Chronic Illness & Patient Self-Management

Timothy E. Quill, MD
Professor of Medicine, Psychiatry and Medical Humanities, Director, Center for Ethics, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Rochester, New York
timothy_quill@urmc.rochester.edu
Palliative Care, Hospice, & Care of the Dying

Gita Ramamurthy, MD
Attending Psychiatrist, Cambridge Hospital; Instructor, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, Massachusetts
murthg@comcast.net
Practitioner Well-being

Nancy A. Rigotti, MD
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Physician and Director, Tobacco Research & Treatment Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
nrigotti@partners.org
Smoking

Bruce L. Rollman, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Center for Research on Health Care, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
rollmanbl@upmc.edu
Anxiety

Steven J. Romano, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry, New York University School of Medicine; Senior Medical Director/Neuroscience, Pfizer, Inc., New York, New York
steve.romano@pfizer.com
Eating Disorders

George W. Saba, PhD
Professor of Clinical Family and Community Medicine, Vitamin Settlement Endowed Chair in Community Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
gsaba@fcm.ucsf.edu
Vulnerable Patients

Jason M. Satterfield, PhD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
jsatter@medicine.ucsf.edu
Anxiety

Dean Schillinger, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, University of California, San Francisco; Director, Center for Vulnerable Populations, San Francisco General Hospital, San Francisco, California
dschillinger@medsfgh.ucsf.edu
Vulnerable Patients

Jason S. Schneider, MD
Assistant Professor, Division of General Medicine, Department of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine; Associate Medical Director, Primary Care Center, Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta, Georgia
jsschne@emory.edu
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgendered (LGTB) Patients

H. Russell Searight, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, Lake Superior State University, Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan
russellsearight@msn.com
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder; Training of International Medical Graduates

J. Jewel Shim, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
jewels@lppi.ucsf.edu
Somatization

Clifford M. Singer, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, College of Medicine, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont
clifford.singer@vtmednet.org
Older Patients; Sleep Disorders

Gregory T. Smith, PhD
Clinical Psychologist and Director, Progressive Rehabilitation Associates, Portland, Oregon
greg@progrehab.com
Pain

Anthony L. Suchman, MD, MA
Relationship Centered Health Care, Rochester, New York
asuchman@rchcweb.com
Practitioner Well-being

Howard L. Taras, MD
Professor, Medical Consultation to Schools, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, California
htaras@ucsd.edu
Children

Teresa J. Villela, MD
Director, Family and Community Medicine Residency Program, San Francisco General Hospital; Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
tvillela@fcm.ucsf.edu
Vulnerable Patients

Judith Walsh, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
judith.walsh@ucsf.edu
Women

Jocelyn C. White, MD, FACP
Department of Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University; Medical Director, Palliative & Hospice Care, Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital & Medical Center, Portland, Oregon
jwhite@lhs.org
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgendered Patients

Sarah Williams, MD
Instructor in Psychiatry, New York University School of Medicine; Director, Physicians Resource Network, North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System, New York, New York
swillia2@nshs.edu
Connections & Boundaries in Clinical Practice

Summer L. Williams, MA
Department of Psychology, University of California, Riverside, Riverside, California
summer.williams@email.ucr.edu
Patient Adherence

Albert W. Wu, MD, MPH
Professor, Department of Health Policy & Management, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, Maryland
awu@jhsph.edu
Mistakes in Medical Practice

Kristine Yaffe, MD
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
kristine.yaffe@ucsf.edu
Dementia & Delirium

John Q. Young, MD, MPP
Assistant Director, Adult Psychiatry Clinic; Associate Director, Residency Training Program, Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospitals and Clinics; Department of Psychiatry, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, California
jqyoung@lppi.ucsf.edu
Personality Disorders

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.