Skip to Main Content
Contributors

Editors

Jeffrey D. Klausner, MD, MPH
Director, STD Prevention and Control Services
San Francisco Department of Public Health
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Divisions of AIDS and Infectious Diseases
University of California, San Francisco

Edward W. Hook III, MD
Professor of Medicine, Microbiology, and Epidemiology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director, STD Control Program
Jefferson County Department of Public Health
Birmingham, Alabama

Contributors

Renata Arrington-Sanders, MD, MPH
Adolescent Medicine Fellow
Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland
rarring3@jhmi.edu
Chapter 23, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Adolescents

Michael Augenbraun, MD
Professor of Medicine
SUNY-Downstate Medical Center
Brooklyn, New York
michael.augenbraun@downstate.edu
Chapter 19, Syphilis

Natali Aziz, MD, MS
Clinical Fellow, Reproductive Infectious Diseases and Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
University of California, San Francisco
naziz@stanford.edu
azizn@obgyn.ucsf.edu
Chapter 22, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Pregnancy

Laura Hinkle Bachmann, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and International Health
Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Alabama at Birmingham
lbachmann@idmail.dom.uab.edu
Chapter 30, Commonly Encountered Genital Dermatoses

Peter V. Chin-Hong, MD
Assistant Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
pvch@itsa.ucsf.edu
Chapter 15, External Genital Warts

Craig R. Cohen, MD, MPH
Associate Adjunct Professor
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
University of California, San Francisco
ccohen@globalhealth.ucsf.edu
Chapter 8, Pelvic Inflammatory Disease
Chapter 22, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Pregnancy

Daniel E. Cohen, MD
Associate Medical Director
The Fenway Institute at Fenway Community Health
Instructor in Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
dcohen@fenwayhealth.org
Chapter 4, Genital Ulcer Disease

Myron S. Cohen, MD
J. Herbert Bate Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology
Director, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Myron_Cohen@med.unc.edu
Chapter 16, Gonorrhea

Jeri Dyson, MD
Assistant Professor of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
University of Florida
Jacksonville, Florida
jeri.dyson@jax.ufl.edu
Chapter 23, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Adolescents

Jonathan Ellen, MD
Associate Professor of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, Maryland
jellen@jhmi.edu
Chapter 23, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Adolescents

William M. Geisler, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Alabama at Birmingham
wgeisler@uab.edu
Chapter 6, Epididymitis & the Acute Scrotum Syndrome
Chapter 13, Genital Chlamydial Infections

Philip M. Grant, MD
Acting Instructor
University of Washington School of Medicine
Harborview Medical Center
Seattle, Washington
pmgrant@u.washington.edu
Chapter 7, Persistent & Recurrent Urethritis

Michael E. Hagensee, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine, Section of Infectious Disease
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, Louisiana
mhagen@lsuhsc.edu
Chapter 29, Management of Abnormal Pap Smears

Christopher S. Hall, MD, MS
Assistant Adjunct Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of California, San Francisco
Chief, Office of Clinical Affairs
California Department of Health Services STD Control Branch
California STD/HIV Prevention Training Center
Oakland, California
chall@dhs.ca.gov
Chapter 17, Lymphogranuloma Venereum

Thomas M. Hooton, MD
Professor of Medicine/Infectious Diseases
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, Florida
thooton@med.miami.edu
Chapter 7, Persistent & Recurrent Urethritis

Edward W. Hook III, MD
Professor of Medicine, Microbiology, and Epidemiology
Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
Director, STD Control Program
Jefferson County Department of Public Health
Birmingham, Alabama
ehook@uab.edu
Chapter 26, Principles of Serologic Testing for Syphilis

Richard H. Kahn, MS
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Division of Parasitic Diseases, Malaria Branch
Atlanta, Georgia
rkahn@cdc.gov
Chapter 28, Partner Notification & Management

Jeffrey D. Klausner, MD, MPH
Director, STD Prevention and Control Services
San Francisco Department of Public Health
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Divisions of AIDS and Infectious Diseases
University of California, San Francisco
Jeff.Klausner@sfdph.org
Chapter 1, Screening Guidelines for Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Including HIV
Chapter 31, The Sexual History

John N. Krieger, MD
Professor of Urology
University of Washington School of Medicine
Chief of Urology
VA Puget Sound Health Care System
Attending Surgeon
University of Washington Medical Center
Harborview Medical Center
Children's Orthopedic Hospital
Seattle, Washington
jkrieger@u.washington.edu
Chapter 6, Epididymitis & the Acute Scrotum Syndrome

Peter Leone, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Peter_Leone@med.unc.edu
Chapter 14, Genital Herpes
Chapter 16, Gonorrhea

Jeanne M. Marrazzo, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
University of Washington
Medical Director, Seattle STD/HIV Prevention Training Center
Seattle, Washington
jmm2@u.washington.edu
Chapter 10, Cervicitis
Chapter 25, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Women Who Have Sex with Women

David H. Martin, MD
Harry E. Dascomb Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Chief, Section of Infectious Diseases
Director, Gulf South STI TM Cooperative Research Center
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, Louisiana
dhmartin@lsuhsc.edu
Chapter 12, Chancroid

Kenneth Mayer, MD
Professor of Medicine
Brown University
Providence, Rhode Island
Kenneth_Mayer@Brown.edu
Chapter 4, Genital Ulcer Disease

Lisa A. Mills, MD
Infectious Diseases Fellow
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
Baltimore, Maryland
lmills7@jhmi.edu
Chapter 21, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in HIV-infected Persons

Joel M. Palefsky, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director of General Clinical Research Center
Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research
University of California, San Francisco
Joel.Palefsky@ucsf.edu
Chapter 15, External Genital Warts

Thomas A. Peterman, MD, MSc
Chief, Field Epidemiology Unit
Division of STD Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, Georgia
tpeterman@cdc.gov
Chapter 28, Partner Notification & Management

Thomas C. Quinn, MD
Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland
tquinn@jhmi.edu
Chapter 21, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in HIV-infected Persons

Cornelis A. Rietmeijer, MD, PhD
Director, STD Control Program
Denver Public Health Department
Professor, Department of Preventive Medicine and Biometrics
University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center
Denver, Colorado
cornelis.rietmeijer@dhha.org
Chapter 27, Principles of Risk Reduction Counseling

Anne M. Rompalo, MD
Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland
arompalo@jhmi.edu
Chapter 9, Proctitis & Proctocolitis

Jane R. Schwebke, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Alabama at Birmingham
schwebke@uab.edu
Chapter 2, Vaginal Discharge
Chapter 11, Bacterial Vaginosis
Chapter 18, Trichomoniasis

Arlene C. Sena, MD, MPH
Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Medical Director, Durham County Health Department
Durham, North Carolina
idrod@med.unc.edu
Chapter 16, Gonorrhea

Roger P. Simon, MD
Chair and Director
R S Dow Neurobiology Laboratories
Legacy Research
Adjunct Professor Neurology, Physiology & Pharmacology
Oregon Health & Sciences University
Portland, Oregon
rsimon@downeurobiology.org
Chapter 20, Neurosyphilis

Walter E. Stamm, MD
Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle, Washington
wes@u.washington.edu
Chapter 13, Genital Chlamydial Infections

Heidi Swygard, MD, MPH
Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Heidi_Swygard@med.unc.edu
Chapter 16, Gonorrhea

Stephanie N. Taylor, MD
Medical Director, Delgado Personal Health Center
Associate Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Section of Infectious Diseases
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, Louisiana
staylo2@lsuhsc.edu
Chapter 12, Chancroid

Harold C. Wiesenfeld, MDCM
Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine/Magee-Women's Research Institute
Co-Director, Sexually Transmitted Diseases Program
Allegheny County Health Department
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
hwiesenfeld@mail.magee.edu
Chapter 5, Lower Abdominal Pain in Women

William Wong, MD
Medical Director
Division of STD/HIV/AIDS
Chicago Department of Public Health
Chicago, Illinois
wong_will@cdph.org
Chapter 24, Sexually Transmitted Diseases in Men Who Have Sex with Men

Mark H. Yudin, MD, MSc, FRCSC
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
yudinm@smh.toronto.on.ca
Chapter 5, Lower Abdominal Pain in Women

Jonathan M. Zenilman, MD
Chief, Infectious Diseases Division
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland
jzenilma@jhmi.edu
Chapter 3, Urethral Discharge

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.