Skip to Main Content
Contributors

Editors

Michael H. Ebert, MD
Associate Dean for Veterans Affairs and Professor of Psychiatry, Yale University School of Medicine
Chief of Staff, VA Connecticut Healthcare System
West Haven, Connecticut

Peter T. Loosen, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee

Barry Nurcombe, MD
Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry,
Departments of Pediatric Medicine and Psychiatry and Neuroscience
University of Western Australia, Perth, Western Australia

Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry
University of Queensland, Herston, Queensland, Australia
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee

James F. Leckman, MD
Neison Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry, Pediatrics, and Psychology
Director of Research
Yale Child Study Center
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut

Contributors

Richard Balon, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences
Associate Director of Residency Training
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Detroit, Michigan
Internet: rbalon@wayne.edu
Sexual Dysfunction and Paraphilias

William Bernet, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Vanderbilt Forensic Services
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: william.bernet@vanderbilt.edu
Child Maltreatment, Gender Identity Disorder, and Forensic Psychiatry

Wade Berrettini, MD, PhD
Karl E. Rickels Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Center for Neurobiology and Behavior
Department of Psychiatry
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Internet: wadeb@mail.med.upenn.edu
Psychiatric Genetics

Dan G. Blazer, MD, MPH, PhD
J. P. Gibbons Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Vice Chairman for Education and Academic Affairs
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Duke University School of Medicine
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina
Internet: blaze001@mc.duke.edu
Psychiatric Epidemiology

Michael H. Bloch, MD
Albert J. Solnit Child and Adult Integrated Training Program
Child Study Center
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: michael.bloch@yale.edu
Tourette Disorder and Obsessive–Compulsive Disorder in Children and Adolescents

William V. Bobo, MD
Assistant Professor in Clinical Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: william.v.bobo@Vanderbilt.edu
Schizophrenia

David A. Brent, MD
Endowed Chair in Suicide Studies and Professor of Psychiatry, Pediatrics, and Epidemiology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Department of Psychiatry
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Internet: BrentDA@upmc.edu
Depressive Disorders in Children and Adolescents and Pediatric Bipolar Disorder

Catherine Chiles, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: catherine.chiles@yale.edu
Consultation–Liaison Psychiatry

Camellia P. Clark, MD
Assistant Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
San Diego, California
Internet: cclark@vapop.ucsd.edu
Sleep Disorders

Kenneth A. Dodge, PhD
William McDougall Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience
Director, Center for Child and Family Policy
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina
Internet: dodge@duke.edu
Developmental Psychology

Michael H. Ebert, MD
Associate Dean for Veterans Affairs and Professor of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
Chief of Staff, VA Connecticut Healthcare System
West Haven, Connecticut
Internet: Michael.Ebert@va.gov
The Psychiatric Interview and Eating Disorders

S. Hossein Fatemi, MD, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology, and Neuroscience
Department of Psychiatry
University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Internet: fatem002@umn.edu
Schizophrenia

Charles V. Ford, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology
University of Alabama School of Medicine at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
Internet: cford@uabmc.edu
Somatoform Disorders and Factitious Disorders and Malingering

Sandra L. Friedman, MD, MPH
Director, Neurodevelopmental Disabilities, Children's Hospital Boston/Harvard
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
Internet: Sandra.friedman@childrens.harvard.edu
Intellectual Disability

J. Christian Gillin, MD (posthumous)
Formerly Professor of Psychiatry, University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
Director, Mental Health Clinical Research Center, VA San Diego Healthcare System
San Diego, California
Sleep Disorders

Harry E. Gwirtsman, MD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
VA Medical Center, Psychiatry Service
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: harry.gwirtsman@vanderbilt.edu
Eating Disorders

Stephan Heckers, MD
James G. Blakemore, Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Radiology
Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Vanderbilt Psychiatric Hospital
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: stephan.heckers@vanderbilt.edu
Schizophrenia

William A. Hewlett, PhD, MD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Director of the Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)/Tourette Syndrome Program
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Psychiatric Hospital at Vanderbilt
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: william.a.hewlett@vanderbilt.edu
Obsessive–Compulsive Disorder

Steven D. Hollon, PhD
Professor of Psychology (Arts and Sciences)
Professor of Psychology and Human Development
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: steven.d.hollon@vanderbilt.edu
Behavioral and Cognitive-Behavioral Interventions

David S. Janowsky, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Internet: david_janowsky@med.unc.edu
Personality Disorders

Douglas Christian Johnson, PhD
Associate Research Scientist
Yale University School of Medicine and the National Center for PTSD Clinical Neurosciences Division
West Haven, Connecticut
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
University of California-San Diego and San Diego VA Healthcare System
San Diego, California
Internet: douglas.johnson@yale.edu
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Acute Stress Disorder

Yifrah Kaminer, MD, MBA
Professor of Psychiatry
Co-Director of Research
Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry & Alcohol Research Center
University of Connecticut School of Medicine
University of Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, Connecticut
Internet: Kaminer@psychiatry.uchc.edu
Substance-Related Disorders in Adolescents

Robert A. King, MD
Professor of Child Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
Medical Director
Tourette's/OCD/Anxiety Disorder Clinics
Yale Child Study Center
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: robert.king@yale.edu
Suicidal Behavior in Children and Adolescents

Howard S. Kirshner, MD
Professor, Vice-Chair of Neurology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
A-0118 Medical Center North
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: Howard.Kirshner@vanderbilt.edu
Delirium, Dementia, and Amnestic Syndromes

John H. Krystal, MD
Robert L. McNeil Jr., Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology
Deputy Chair for Research
Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
Connecticut Mental Health Center
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: john.krystal@yale.edu
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Acute Stress Disorder

Joseph A. Kwentus, MD
Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
University of Mississippi School of Medicine
Jackson, Mississippi
Internet: jkwentus@precise-research.com
Delirium, Dementia, and Amnestic Syndromes

James F. Leckman, MD
Neison Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry, Pediatrics, and Psychology
Director of Research
Yale Child Study Center
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: james.leckman@yale.edu
Tourette Disorder and Obsessive–Compulsive Disorder in Children and Adolescents

Elizabeth L. Leonard, PhD
Lecturer in Psychiatry
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
Internet: Elizabeth_leonard@hms.harvard.edu
Intellectual Disability

James W. Lomax, MD
Professor and Associate Chair
Director of Educational Programs
Karl Menninger Chair of Psychiatric Education
Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Houston, Texas
Internet: jlomax@bcm.tmc.edu
Psychodynamic and Social Interventions

Peter T. Loosen, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: ploosen@gmail.com
Mood Disorders

Peter R. Martin, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Director of the Division of Addiction Medicine, Addiction Psychiatry Training Program, and Vanderbilt Addiction Center
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Vanderbilt Psychiatric Hospital
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: peter.martin@vanderbilt.edu
Substance-Related Disorders

Brett McDermott, MD
Associate Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Director, Mater Child and Youth Mental Health Service
Department of Psychiatry
The University of Queensland
Mater Health Campus
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Internet: Brett.McDermott@mater.org.au
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder in Children and Adolescents following a Single-Event Trauma

Herbert V. Meltzer, MD
Bixler/May/Johnson, Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Pharmacology
Director of the Psychosis Program
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Psychiatric Hospital at Vanderbilt
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: herbert.meltzer@vanderbilt.edu
Schizophrenia

James E. Mitchell, MD
Christoferson Professor and Chair
Department of Clinical Neuroscience
University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences
President and Scientific Director, Neuropsychiatric Research Institute
Fargo, North Dakota
Internet: Mitchell@medicine.nodak.edu
Eating Disorders

Polly Moore, PhD, RPsgT
Director of Sleep Research
California Clinical Trials
San Diego, California
Internet: polly.moore@cctrials.com
Sleep Disorders

James L. Nash, MD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: james.nash@vanderbilt.edu
Psychodynamic and Social Interventions

Barry Nurcombe, MD
Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Departments of Paediatric Medicine and Psychiatry and Neuroscience
University of Western Australia, Perth, Western Australia
Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry
The University of Queensland, Herston, Queensland, Australia, and Vanderbilt
University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: bnurcombe@uq.edu.au
Clinical Decision-Making in Psychiatry, The Psychiatric Interview, Diagnostic Encounter for Children and Adolescents, Diagnostic Evaluation for Children and Adolescents, Diagnostic Formulation, Treatment Planning, and Modes of Treatment in Children and Adolescents, Preventive Psychiatry, Dissociative Disorders, Motor Skills Disorder and Communication Disorders, Oppositional Defiant Disorder and Conduct Disorder, Anxiety Disorders in Children and Adolescents, Developmental Disorders of Attachment, Feeding, Elimination, and Sleeping, and Psychological Reactions to Acute and Chronic Systemic Illness in Pediatric Patients

John I. Nurnberger Jr., MD, PhD
Joyce and Iver Small Professor of Psychiatry
Professor of Medical and Molecular Genetics and Medical Neuroscience
Director, Institute of Psychiatric Research
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, Indiana
Internet: jnurnber@iupui.edu
Psychiatric Genetics

Lisa Pan, MD
Research Fellow, Department of Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Internet: thomasla@upmc.edu
Depressive Disorders in Children and Adolescents

Raymond J. Pan, MD
Research Fellow, Department of Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Internet: panrjmd@gmail.com
Pediatric Bipolar Disorder

Howard B. Roback, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: howard.roback@vanderbilt.edu
Psychological and Neuropsychological Assessment

Robert M. Rohrbaugh, MD
Associate Professor and Director of Medical Studies
Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
Associate Chief and Director of Education and Training
Psychiatry Services VA Connecticut Healthcare System
VA Hospital
West Haven, Connecticut
Internet: robert.rohrbaugh@va.gov
Emergency Psychiatry

Lucy Salomon, MD
Consultant in Psychiatry
Nantucket Cottage Hospital
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Internet: slmnlucy@nantucket.net
Adjustment Disorders

Ronald M. Salomon, MD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: ron.salomon@vanderbilt.edu
Adjustment Disorders

R. Taylor Segraves, MD, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Chair, Department of Psychiatry
MetroHealth Medical Center
Cleveland, Ohio
Internet: rsegraves@metrohealth.org
Sexual Dysfunction and Paraphilias

Michael J. Sernyak, MD
Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
Chief of Psychiatry Service and Mental Health Service Line Manager
VA Connecticut Healthcare System
West Haven, Connecticut
Internet: michael.sernyak@va.gov
Emergency Psychiatry

Richard C. Shelton, MD
James G. Blakemore, Research Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Pharmacology
Vice Chair for Research
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: richard.shelton@vanderbilt.edu
Psychopharmacologic Interventions, Other Psychotic Disorders, Mood Disorders, and Anxiety Disorders

Deborah R. Simkin, MD
Adjunct Associate Professor and Residency Director
Department of Psychiatry
University of South Alabama College of Medicine
Mobile, Alabama
Clinical Assistant Professor
Florida State Medical School
Destin, Florida
Internet: Deb62288@aol.com
Substance-Related Disorders in Adolescents

Steven M. Southwick, MD
Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
VA Connecticut Health Care System
West Haven, Connecticut
Internet: steven.southwick@va.gov
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Acute Stress Disorder

Thomas J. Spencer, MD
Associate Director, Clinical and Research Program in Pediatric Psychopharmacology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Harvard University Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
Internet: spencer@helix.mgh.harvard.edu
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

Ludwik S. Szymanski, MD
Director Emeritus of Psychiatry
Institute for Community Inclusion
Children's Hospital, Boston
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts
Internet: ludwik.szymanski@childrens.harvard.edu
Intellectual Disability

John W. Thompson Jr., MD
Vice-Chair, Professor, and Chief, Section of Adult Psychiatry
Director, Division of Forensic Neuropsychiatry
Department of Psychiatry and Neurology
Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, Louisiana
Internet: jthomps3@tulane.edu
Impulse-Control Disorders

Travis Thompson, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics, Autism Program
University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Internet: tithompson@comcast.net
Behavioral and Cognitive-Behavioral Interventions

Michael G. Tramontana, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Psychiatric Hospital at Vanderbilt
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: michael.tramontana@vanderbilt.edu
Diagnostic Evaluation for Children and Adolescents, Learning Disorders, and Motor Skills Disorder and Communication Disorders

Fred R. Volkmar, MD
Director, Child Study Center
Chief, Child Psychiatry, Children's Hospital at Yale
Irwing B. Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry, Pediatrics and Psychology
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut
Internet: fred.volkmar@yale.edu
Autism and the Pervasive Developmental Disorders

James S. Walker, PhD
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Psychology
Department of Psychiatry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Internet: James.S.Walker@Vanderbilt.edu
Psychological and Neuropsychological Assessment

Larry W. Welch, EdD
Consulting Psychologist
Social Security Administration
Medical Unit of Disability Determination Services of Tennessee
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Internet: Larry.W.Welch@ssa.gov
Psychological and Neuropsychological Assessment

Daniel K. Winstead, MD
Robert G. Heath Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Neurology
Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, Louisiana
Internet: winstead@tulane.edu
Impulse-Control Disorders

Thomas N. Wise, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Behavioral Health Services
Inova Health System
Falls Church, Virginia
Internet: thomas.wise@inova.org
Consultation–Liaison Psychiatry

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.